Short answer
Salsify is a product experience management (PXM) platform that stores digital assets in the same system as product records, so it fits brands whose main asset job is product imagery for retailer and marketplace channels. Core Edition includes 500 GB of asset storage per production instance. Teams that run brand campaigns, agency portals or large video libraries usually pair Salsify with a dedicated DAM.
Facts on this page are verified against vendor documentation and public sources, each linked. Scenario scores publish after the scripted demo round.
What Salsify is
Salsify is a PXM platform, a PIM extended with syndication, enhanced content and digital shelf analytics, and its DAM capability is an asset module inside that platform. Salsify, Inc. was founded in 2012 in Boston. Offices are listed in Boston, Lisbon, Paris and Sydney.
The Salsify entitlement guide lists "Record and Digital Asset management" as a Core Edition capability: import, export, storage and display of product records and digital assets. The guide defines a digital asset as any file stored in the platform, including images and videos, and counts assets separately from records. Salsify markets no standalone DAM product. Its PXM product page names DAM as one of several categories a PXM platform brings together.
Salsify sells these components, according to its own documentation and press releases:
- ProductXM (PXM): product records, digital assets, the Workflow Engine and syndication to channels.
- SupplierXM (Supplier Onboarding): the supplier platform that came with the Alkemics acquisition in 2021.
- Add-ons: Enhanced Content, Catalog Sites, Grocery Accelerator and Digital Shelf Analytics.
- AI: the Intelligence Suite with AI Accelerators in the Workflow Engine, plus SalsifyIQ and AI Image Generation, announced in May 2026.
Ownership is changing. Cinven announced on 22 July 2026 an agreement to acquire Salsify, Inc., subject to regulatory approvals. The ownership table on this page lists the dated history.
Where Salsify fits
Salsify fits the DAMSelection segment for product content, packaging and commerce when the PIM decision comes first and assets mainly serve product pages. Nine DAM vendors document a Salsify connector in the Fit Map, which shows how often large asset estates sit in a separate DAM.
DAMSelection assessment: Salsify suits buyers whose assets are mostly packshots, product documents and short videos tied to SKUs and published to retailers. Keeping those assets in the PIM removes one integration and gives one link between record and image. Brand teams that need campaign workflows, agency sharing and guideline portals fit the brand and marketing DAM segment better, with Salsify receiving approved product assets.
| Buyer condition | Salsify asset module | Dedicated DAM feeding Salsify |
|---|---|---|
| Assets are mainly product images tied to SKUs | Fits | Optional |
| Brand campaigns, agency briefs and brand portal | No documented feature found | Better fit |
| Library above 500 GB per instance | Needs extra entitlement | Fits |
| EU hosting required for asset files | No documented option | Depends on the DAM vendor |
| Packaging artwork approval with annotations | No documented feature found | Product segment DAM |
Compare the two-system route on Bynder vs Salsify and the wider vendor directory.
How Salsify covers the core DAM jobs
Salsify documents the basic product asset jobs of upload, product linking, storage and CDN delivery, while documentation for asset rights, versioning and approvals was not found.
| DAM job | What Salsify documents | Status |
|---|---|---|
| Ingest | Upload through the Digital Assets page; import and export in Core Edition | Documented |
| Renditions | Third-party CDN that also processes assets for delivery; Cloudinary and ImageKit listed as image and video sub-processors | Documented, mechanism to confirm |
| Metadata and search | Search assets, filter by type, view linked and unlinked assets | Partly documented |
| AI enrichment | Extract Data from Assets accelerator in the Workflow Engine | Described as offered, October 2025 |
| Workflow | Workflow Engine with AI Accelerator task types | Documented for products |
| Rights and expiry | No asset rights or expiry fields found | Not verified |
| Distribution | CDN delivery to any internet channel, 500 GB per month in Core | Documented |
Salsify's rendition handling runs through its CDN partner. The sub-processor list names Cloudinary, Inc. and ImageKit Inc for image and video management in PXM.
Product content and PIM integration
Salsify needs no PIM connector for its own asset module, because assets and product records sit in one platform. Integration questions arise when a separate DAM feeds Salsify, and the Fit Map records connectors from nine DAM vendors on that route.
| DAM | Connector builder | Fit Map level |
|---|---|---|
| Aprimo | Aprimo, paid, unpublishes expired or deleted assets | 4 |
| Brandfolder | Brandfolder | 4 |
| Frontify | Frontify | 4 |
| Bynder | Gournay Consulting, Lettuce Commerce, The 543 Group and Sitation, partner supported | 3 |
| Acquia DAM | Stacks, LLC | 3 |
| Orange Logic | Avyre | 3 |
| OpenText | Builder not stated | 3 |
| Tenovos | Builder not stated | 3 |
| Papirfly | Builder not stated, listed as Salsify GDSN | 3 |
brix Solutions AG also sells a Salsify Connector Service that moves product assets from Bynder into one or more Salsify instances. Check depth levels per DAM in the PIM DAM Fit Map and the Salsify integration guide.
Hosting, security and contract checks
Salsify documents SOC 2 Type II and links an ISO/IEC 27001 certificate that expired in November 2025, and its sub-processor list places PXM hosting on Amazon Web Services in the USA. The security page names no hosting provider or region. Supplier Onboarding runs in the EU on Microsoft Azure, OVH and Scaleway.
The ISO certificate linked from the security page is ISO/IEC 27001:2013, issued by A-LIGN under number ISMS-SA-110822, with expiry on 8 November 2025. Salsify publishes no renewed certificate, so ask for the current one.
Confirm these points in contract, using the contract clauses guide:
- The region that holds PXM data and asset files, and any EU option for data residency.
- The current ISO/IEC 27001 certificate and the latest SOC 2 Type II report.
- Which asset data Cloudinary and ImageKit process, and in which regions.
- The AI providers that process assets in AI Accelerators and image generation.
- Change of control terms, given the announced Cinven acquisition.
What to test in a scripted demo
Salsify's demo should prove the asset claims in its documentation on your own SKUs and images. Build the script with the demo script guide.
- Upload 200 product images named to your convention and show automatic linking to the matching SKUs.
- Generate three channel renditions from one master and show the delivery URLs and which processor creates them.
- Run Extract Data from Assets on 20 packaging images and show the human review step before values publish.
- Expire a licensed lifestyle image and show how Salsify removes it from every connected channel.
- If a DAM already exists, run its Salsify connector live: replace an asset in the DAM and show the update reach a retailer feed.
- Show storage and bandwidth usage against the 500 GB entitlements, with the three-month average.
- Show where asset files and backups are stored, by region.
Pricing questions to ask
Salsify prices by edition and entitlement, and its published guide states limits without prices. Core Edition includes 50,000 records, 500 GB asset storage, 500 GB monthly asset bandwidth and 100,000 API calls per month.
Worked example: a brand with 40,000 SKUs and six images per SKU at 4 MB each holds about 960 GB. That library needs roughly double the Core storage entitlement before any video. Model the five-year effect in the TCO calculator.
- Price per additional 500 GB of asset storage.
- Charges when the three-month bandwidth average exceeds 500 GB.
- Fees or usage caps on AI Accelerators.
- Renewal cap after the ownership change.
Strengths and watch-outs
DAMSelection assessment Drawn from vendor documentation and public sources verified on 2026-10-15. Demo evidence follows in the scripted demo round.
Strengths
- Salsify Core Edition includes import, export, storage and display of product records and digital assets in one platform, plus a third-party CDN that the guide states also processes digital assets for delivery. source
- Salsify states SOC 2 Type II compliance for its ProductXM and SupplierXM platforms, renewed annually, with the report available through sales or customer success. source
- Aprimo builds and supports a paid connector that sends approved assets and mapped metadata to Salsify products and unpublishes expired or deleted assets. source
Watch-outs
- Salsify lists Amazon Web Services in the USA as the hosting sub-processor for PXM, and its security page documents no EU hosting option for product and asset data. source
- Cinven announced on 22 July 2026 that it will acquire Salsify, Inc., subject to regulatory approvals, so ownership and roadmap commitments may change during a contract term. source
- Salsify Core caps asset storage at 500 GB and asset CDN bandwidth at 500 GB per month per production instance, measured as a three-month average. source
AI capabilities: shipped and announced
Documented as available
- Grocery Accelerator: adds missing content to Salsify from product packaging images and runs human and AI validations against a Salsify-maintained Grocery Category Guide; add-on capped at 1,000 GTINs per year. source
- Intelligence Suite AI Accelerators, including Extract Data from Assets: AI task types in the Salsify Workflow Engine, described in the October 2025 release as currently offered. source
Announced or in beta
- AI Image Generation (announced May 2026): background removal, variant colour changes and lifestyle imagery inside the system of record; no availability tier stated. source
- SalsifyIQ (announced May 2026): a product knowledge graph and intelligence layer shared by users, AI agents and workflows; no availability tier stated. source
Pricing archetype
Salsify publishes an entitlement guide for the PXM Advance Platform Core Edition with limits of 50,000 records, 500 GB asset storage, 500 GB monthly asset bandwidth and 100,000 API calls per month, with Enterprise and Enterprise Plus tiers for additional instances. The guide lists no prices. source
Model five-year cost for each archetype in the TCO Calculator and compare against the DAM Pricing Index once its cells publish.
Integrations
No verified PIM connector cells yet for Salsify in the PIM and DAM Fit Map.
- Bynder to Salsify app on the Bynder Marketplace, built by Lettuce Commerce and labelled partner supported, syncing assets and metadata with product fields written back to Bynder. source
- Acquia DAM integration for Salsify built by Stacks, LLC, described as a bi-directional sync of product details and images. source
- brix Salsify Connector Service from brix Solutions AG, moving product assets from Bynder into one or more Salsify instances by naming convention and collection. source
- Salsify lists Cloudinary, Inc. and ImageKit Inc as sub-processors for image and video management in PXM. source
Ownership and history
| Date | Event |
|---|---|
| 2012 | Salsify founded in Boston, Massachusetts. source |
| 2019-10 | Salsify acquires B2B e-commerce consultancy B2X Partners. source |
| 2021-05 | Salsify acquires Alkemics, whose supplier experience platform becomes SupplierXM. source |
| 2021-10 | Salsify acquires SKUvantage, a product content provider based near Sydney, Australia. source |
| 2022-04 | Salsify closes a 200 million dollar Series F led by TPG at a 2 billion dollar valuation. source |
| 2024-02 | Salsify launches the PXM Advance Platform. source |
| 2024-06 | Salsify names Piyush Chaudhari as CEO. source |
| 2026-07 | Cinven announces an agreement to acquire Salsify, Inc., subject to regulatory approvals and customary closing conditions. source |
Scenario fit scores
Scenario scores come from the public scoring model and require scripted demo evidence on the 12 DAMSelection criteria. They publish after the demo round.
| Scenario | Score (0 to 5) |
|---|---|
| B2B manufacturers | Scoring pending |
| Retail and e-commerce | Scoring pending |
| CPG packaging artwork | Scoring pending |
Scripted demo requests for Salsify
Send these requests with your own sample assets two weeks before the demo. Score the result with the DAMSelection scoring matrix.
- Link 50 product images to SKUs from our PIM export and generate marketplace renditions.
- Version a packaging artwork file through regulatory approval with full audit trail.
- Show how a PIM attribute change triggers an artwork review task.
- Show delivery URLs and the URL parameters for crops and formats our e-commerce front end needs.
Comparisons, alternatives and shortlists
- Bynder vs Salsify
- DAM shortlist for B2B manufacturers
- DAM shortlist for retail and e-commerce
- DAM shortlist for CPG packaging artwork
Right of reply: Salsify can request a factual correction through the corrections form.
Frequently asked
Does Salsify have a DAM?
Salsify includes digital asset management inside its PXM platform. Core Edition covers import, export, storage and display of digital assets alongside product records, with CDN delivery. Salsify markets no standalone DAM product, and nine DAM vendors document a Salsify connector in the Fit Map.
How much does Salsify cost?
Salsify publishes edition entitlements without prices. Core Edition includes 50,000 records, 500 GB asset storage, 500 GB monthly asset bandwidth and 100,000 API calls per month. Extra instances add storage, and add-ons such as Enhanced Content are priced separately, so a quote is required.
Where does Salsify host data?
Salsify lists Amazon Web Services in the USA as the hosting sub-processor for PXM, which holds product records and assets. Supplier Onboarding is hosted in the EU on Microsoft Azure, OVH and Scaleway. No EU hosting option for PXM was found in Salsify documentation.
Which DAM systems integrate with Salsify?
The Fit Map records Salsify connectors built by Aprimo, Brandfolder and Frontify at level 4. Bynder, Acquia DAM, Orange Logic, OpenText, Tenovos and Papirfly connect through partner-built or unattributed connectors at level 3. brix Solutions AG also sells a Bynder to Salsify service.
Does Salsify use AI on product images?
Salsify describes an Extract Data from Assets accelerator as currently offered since October 2025, and its Grocery Accelerator adds missing content from packaging images. AI Image Generation for background removal and lifestyle imagery was announced in May 2026 without an availability tier.
Who owns Salsify?
Salsify, Inc. raised a 200 million dollar Series F led by TPG in 2022. Cinven announced an agreement to acquire Salsify on 22 July 2026, subject to regulatory approvals. Cinven's news page showed no completion release on 15 October 2026.
Sources
- Salsify security and reliability
- Salsify ISO 27001 certificate (2022)
- Salsify third party service providers (updated September 2025)
- Salsify definitions and entitlement guide: PXM Advance Core
- Salsify definitions and entitlement guide: Distributor Core
- Salsify Help: Importing Digital Assets
- Cinven to acquire Salsify, Inc. (July 2026)
- Salsify closes 200 million dollar investment led by TPG (April 2022)
- Salsify acquires Alkemics (May 2021)
- Salsify acquires SKUvantage (October 2021)
- Salsify press room
- Salsify AI for PXM operations and agentic commerce (October 2025)
- Salsify unveils SalsifyIQ (May 2026)
- Bynder and Salsify strengthen partnership (March 2024)
- Salsify PXM product page
- Salsify guide: What is DAM
- Aprimo Marketplace: Salsify Connector
- Bynder Marketplace: Salsify
- Acquia: Salsify and Acquia DAM integration
- brix: Salsify Connector Service
- Cinven news and insights (lists Cinven to acquire Salsify)
- Goodwin advises Salsify on acquisition by Cinven (July 2026)
- Smartsheet Help: Brandfolder Salsify integration
- Frontify integrations: Salsify
- Orange Logic Marketplace: Salsify
- OpenText Digital Asset Management product overview
- Tenovos Connect
- Papirfly integrations
- Bynder Marketplace: Salsify apps