Short answer
Aprimo and Bynder are both Leaders in the Forrester Wave for DAM systems, Q1 2026, and both quote prices only on request. Aprimo fits enterprises that want DAM, planning, spend and generally available AI agents from one vendor. Bynder fits brand and marketing teams that need a documented EU-only hosting option in Frankfurt and ISO 27001:2022 certification.
Facts on this page are verified against vendor documentation and public sources, each linked. Scenario scores publish after the scripted demo round.
Verdict
DAMSelection assessment: Aprimo suits content operations teams that buy governance and planning modules with the DAM, and Bynder suits marketing teams that weigh EU residency and published certifications highest. Scenario scores publish after the scripted demo round. The vendor directory lists every profile, and the Aprimo vs Orange Logic page covers another enterprise pairing.
Choose Aprimo when:
- One vendor should run DAM, campaign planning, budgets and productivity, which Aprimo sells as modules.
- AI agents must be in production, as Aprimo declared AI Agents generally available in May 2025 and Bynder runs its agents through early access.
- Your PIM is Akeneo, inriver or Salsify, where the Fit Map records level 4 connectors for Aprimo and level 3 partner connectors for Bynder.
- Integrators need a published API rate limit per environment, which Aprimo documents with a burst buffer.
Choose Bynder when:
- Customer data must stay inside the European Economic Area, which the Bynder EU-only option in Frankfurt documents.
- Your security review requires ISO 27001:2022, ISO 27018 and ISO 22301 certificates, all listed by Bynder.
- Your creative team uses Premiere Pro or After Effects, both covered by the Bynder Adobe CC Connector.
Where Aprimo and Bynder differ
Aprimo and Bynder sit in different DAMSelection segments: enterprise content platforms and brand and marketing DAM. The table adds documented differences to the verified facts table on this page.
| Topic | Aprimo | Bynder |
|---|---|---|
| Modules around the DAM | Content Portfolio Management, Plan, Spend, Productivity, Personalization | Bynder AI, Asset Workflow, Content Workflow, Studio, Analytics |
| AI packaging | AI Elite add-on holds AI Content Detection | AI search features require a contract upgrade |
| Agent status | AI Agents generally available since May 2025; Agentic DAM since March 2026 | AI Agent Platform in the Early Access Program since March 2025 |
| Connector catalogue | More than 80 connectors stated on the Aprimo marketplace, priced individually | Marketplace apps, with every PIM app built by a partner |
| API documentation | OAuth 2.0, OpenAPI specifications, segmented upload for files over 20 MB, per-environment rate limit | Text-in-Image Search and Speech-to-Text usable through the API |
| DAM origin | ADAM Software of Ghent, acquired by Aprimo in 2017 | Founded in 2013; agreed to acquire Webdam from Shutterstock in 2018 |
DAMSelection assessment: the segment split decides the shortlist. The enterprise multi-brand shortlist holds Aprimo, and the mid-market marketing teams shortlist holds Bynder.
Product content and PIM integration
Aprimo shows more vendor-built PIM connectors than Bynder in the PIM and DAM Fit Map, and both reach Stibo STEP at level 4. Level 4 means a native connector built by the DAM or the PIM vendor. Level 3 means a partner connector.
| PIM | Aprimo | Bynder |
|---|---|---|
| Akeneo | Level 4: open source connector published by Aprimo, free, last listed update September 2024 | Level 3: partner connectors from Induxx and Dataggo, plus a Gournay Consulting app |
| inriver | Level 4: open source connector published by Aprimo on GitHub | Level 3: partner connectors from Ntara, Ctac, XSARUS and Lettuce Commerce |
| Salsify | Level 4: connector built and supported by Aprimo | Level 3: four partner apps from Gournay Consulting, Lettuce Commerce, The 543 Group and Sitation |
| Stibo STEP | Level 4: connector developed by Stibo Systems | Level 4: connector developed by Stibo Systems |
| Syndigo | No Fit Map cell | Level 3: Bynder-Syndigo Connector from integration partner brix Solutions AG |
Bynder buyers choose between several partner connectors for Akeneo, inriver and Salsify. Aprimo buyers get one connector published by Aprimo for each of those PIMs. The Aprimo Akeneo app is open source with no stated support terms, so its maintenance needs a contract line.
DAMSelection assessment: DAM and PIM form one product content supply chain. Ask each connector owner for the support term and the fields synced in each direction. The Salsify integration page and the Akeneo integration page list other candidates.
Hosting and security differences
Bynder documents its hosting regions, residency options and ISO certificates, and Aprimo documents SOC 2 Type II and Azure hosting without regions. EU buyers with strict data residency rules get more published detail from Bynder.
| Control | Aprimo | Bynder |
|---|---|---|
| Cloud | Microsoft Azure | Amazon Web Services |
| Regions published | None on the trust centre | Frankfurt, N. Virginia, California, Tokyo; US-only option in Ohio and Oregon |
| Residency choice | Not stated | EU-only, US-only or Global |
| ISO certificates | Not stated | ISO 27001:2022, 27018:2019, 22301:2019 |
| SOC reports | SOC 2 Type II, audited annually | SOC 2 Type II, summary under NDA |
Bynder Global residency keeps assets in the upload region and replicates metadata to all regions. Aprimo buyers request the Azure region, backups and sub-processors in writing. The security review guide gives the questions.
Pricing model differences
Aprimo and Bynder both build a custom quote, and Bynder names storage and usage as price drivers. Aprimo names products and users.
- Aprimo: quote by products chosen and number of users, typically on a 12-month initial term. Connectors are priced individually, and AI Elite is an add-on. The pricing page mentions no storage, bandwidth or AI credits.
- Bynder: custom package of modules, priced on users, storage and usage across the martech stack. AI search needs a contract upgrade, and the pricing FAQ does not mention AI credits.
DAMSelection assessment: storage, egress and AI credit consumption drive five-year DAM cost more than licence fees. Ask Aprimo how storage and agent runs are metered, and ask Bynder for its storage tiers. Model both in the TCO calculator.
AI capabilities documented for each
Aprimo documents more generally available AI agents, and Bynder documents a wider set of shipped search features. Both have agent work outside general availability.
| Status | Aprimo | Bynder |
|---|---|---|
| Shipped | AI Agents (May 2025); AI Smart Tagging with custom tags; AI Content Detection reading CAI provenance data (AI Elite); Agentic DAM (March 2026); Content Portfolio Management (September 2026) | Natural Language Search, optimised for English; Similarity Search and Search by Image; Text-in-Image Search; Speech-to-Text from over 100 languages; AI Face Recognition; AI-Powered Duplicate Finder |
| Early access or announced | Agents working inside third-party creative and martech tools, planned | AI Agent Platform in early access since March 2025; Compliance Agent announced December 2025 without status |
DAMSelection assessment: multilingual European teams test Bynder Natural Language Search in each working language. Aprimo agents tag against the taxonomy you supply, so design the metadata model first with the metadata model builder.
What to test in a scripted demo
Aprimo and Bynder separate on six points that a scripted demo on your own assets can prove.
- Run Aprimo AI Smart Tagging on 200 of your images, ask Bynder to show its AI enrichment on the same set, and count the tags you keep.
- Search in Dutch, German and French with Bynder Natural Language Search, and record the hit rate per language.
- Show an Aprimo Compliance Agent rejecting an asset against one of your brand rules, then show the Bynder equivalent and its programme status.
- Show a Bynder EU-only tenant and the Azure region Aprimo would assign, both in writing.
- Sync one approved asset to your PIM through the listed connector and name the company that supports it.
- Show which features in the demo sit in Aprimo AI Elite and which need the Bynder AI search upgrade.
Verified facts side by side
| Aprimo | Bynder | |
|---|---|---|
| DAMSelection segment | Enterprise content platforms | Brand and marketing DAM |
| Forrester Wave DAM Q1 2026 | Leader | Leader |
| Headquarters | Indianapolis, United States, with offices in Amsterdam, Ghent, London, Manila and Melbourne | Amsterdam, Netherlands, with office hubs in the United States, Spain, the UK, Australia and the UAE |
| Parent company | Privately held; portfolio company of Marlin Equity Partners (stated by Marlin in July 2020, still listed in the Marlin portfolio) | Thomas H. Lee Partners (THL), majority investor; investment announced December 2022 and listed by THL as a current 2023 investment |
| Deployment model | SaaS on Microsoft Azure | Cloud SaaS hosted on Amazon Web Services |
| Hosting regions | Not verified | Chosen per hosting option before the environment is configured: Global uses AWS Tokyo, Frankfurt, N. Virginia and California; US-only uses Ohio and Oregon; Frankfurt is the default location |
| Data residency options | Not verified | EU-only (Frankfurt, data stays in the EEA), US-only (Ohio primary, Oregon failover, no replication outside the US) or Global (assets stay in the upload region, metadata replicates to all regions) |
| Security certifications | SOC 2 Type II, audited annually; GDPR alignment stated | SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001:2022, ISO 27018:2019, ISO 22301:2019; GDPR, CCPA and HIPAA compliance stated |
| Pricing archetype | Quote-based, priced by users and modules, with the AI Elite add-on and marketplace connectors priced separately | Quote-based custom package built from modules, priced on users, storage and usage |
| Native PIM connectors | Akeneo and inRiver listed on the Aprimo integrations page; the Akeneo connector is published by Aprimo as open source | No Bynder-built PIM connector found; the Bynder Marketplace lists partner-built apps for Akeneo (Dataggo, Induxx NV, Gournay Consulting), Salsify, inriver and Stibo |
| Native creative tool connectors | Adobe Creative Cloud, Figma, Canva | Adobe CC Connector for InDesign, Photoshop, Illustrator, Premiere Pro and After Effects, developed by LinkrUI and labelled Bynder supported |
Facts link to their sources on each vendor profile. Scores on the 12 DAMSelection criteria publish after the scripted demo round.
Demo requests that separate them
- Configure our multi-brand, multi-region permission model live, using our org chart.
- Show one brief moving from request to approved, published asset across every module involved.
- Set up a brand portal for an external agency with our guidelines in under 30 minutes.
- Show what a regional marketer sees and can do, logged in with that role.
Migration between them
Migration effort depends on export completeness, metadata mapping and integrations to rebuild. Test a 500-asset export from the incumbent during the proof of concept.
Profiles: Aprimo profile and Bynder profile.
Frequently asked
Is Aprimo or Bynder better for a marketing team?
Bynder sits in the DAMSelection brand and marketing DAM segment, and Aprimo sits in the enterprise content platforms segment. DAMSelection assessment: a marketing team that needs DAM only tests Bynder first. A team that also wants planning, spend and agent-driven governance from one vendor tests Aprimo first.
Which is cheaper, Aprimo or Bynder?
Neither Aprimo nor Bynder publishes prices. Aprimo quotes by modules and users, with AI Elite and connectors extra. Bynder quotes a modular package priced on users, storage and usage, with AI search as an upgrade. Compare five-year totals for the same scope, including storage growth.
Where are Aprimo and Bynder hosted?
Aprimo runs as SaaS on Microsoft Azure and publishes no hosting regions. Bynder runs on Amazon Web Services, with storage in Frankfurt, N. Virginia, California and Tokyo, and offers an EU-only option in Frankfurt. Both vendors confirm the region for your tenant in the contract.
Which has better Salsify integration, Aprimo or Bynder?
Aprimo builds and supports its own Salsify connector, recorded at level 4 in the Fit Map. Bynder lists four partner-supported Salsify apps, recorded at level 3. Test the sync of an approved asset and a metadata change in both directions during the demo.
Who owns Aprimo and Bynder?
Aprimo is privately held and a portfolio company of Marlin Equity Partners, confirmed in 2020. Bynder is majority owned by Thomas H. Lee Partners, which announced the investment in December 2022. The DAMSelection facts record no ownership change for either vendor in 2025 or 2026.
Sources
- The Forrester Wave: Digital Asset Management Systems, Q1 2026, Forrester report page
- Aprimo Recognized as a Leader in Digital Asset Management Systems evaluation (Business Wire, February 2026)
- Bynder named a Leader in The Forrester Wave: Digital Asset Management Systems, Q1 2026 (Bynder)
- Aprimo pricing
- Aprimo integrations
- Aprimo trust centre: compliance
- Aprimo developer docs: rate limiting
- Aprimo developer docs: DAM developer tutorial
- Aprimo enablement: AI Smart Tagging
- Aprimo enablement: AI Content Detection
- Akeneo App Store: Aprimo integration
- Aprimo marketplace: inRiver connector
- Aprimo marketplace: Salsify connector
- Stibo Systems connectivity gallery: Aprimo
- Aprimo launches AI Agents, May 2025
- Aprimo unveils Agentic DAM, March 2026
- Aprimo launches Content Portfolio Management, September 2026
- CMSWire: Aprimo acquires ADAM Software, March 2017
- MarTech Series: Aprimo appoints Erik Huddleston as CEO, July 2020
- Aprimo newsroom
- Bynder security
- Bynder Support: Bynder Security and Compliance
- Bynder Support: Bynder platform setup and hosting
- Bynder pricing
- Bynder Marketplace: PIM integrations
- Bynder Marketplace: Adobe CC Connector
- Bynder Marketplace: inriver connector
- Bynder Marketplace: Salsify apps
- Akeneo App Store: Bynder connector by Induxx
- Stibo Systems connectivity gallery: Bynder
- brix Solutions: Syndigo connector service
- Bynder Support: AI Search Experience offerings
- Bynder Support: Natural Language Search
- Bynder Support: AI Agents offerings
- Bynder Compliance Agent release, December 2025 (GlobeNewswire)
- Bynder announces majority investment from Thomas H. Lee Partners, December 2022
- Bynder announces strategic acquisition of Webdam, February 2018
- THL portfolio: Bynder