Short answer
Aprimo and Orange Logic are both Leaders in the Forrester Wave for DAM systems, Q1 2026, and both sit in the DAMSelection enterprise content platforms segment. Aprimo fits organisations that want DAM, planning, spend and AI agents on Microsoft Azure. Orange Logic fits teams that need to choose AWS, Azure or Google Cloud storage, or keep files on premises through Media Bridge.
Facts on this page are verified against vendor documentation and public sources, each linked. Scenario scores publish after the scripted demo round.
Verdict
DAMSelection assessment: Aprimo suits marketing content operations that buy planning and governance modules with the DAM, and Orange Logic suits organisations with storage location, archive or media management demands. Scenario scores publish after the scripted demo round. The vendor directory lists every profile, and the Aprimo vs Bynder and OpenText vs Orange Logic pages cover adjacent choices.
Choose Aprimo when:
- One vendor should run DAM, campaign planning, budgets and productivity, which Aprimo sells as modules.
- Your PIM is inriver, Salsify or Stibo STEP, where the Fit Map records level 4 connectors for Aprimo and level 3 for Orange Logic.
- Your PIM is Akeneo, where Aprimo publishes an open source connector at Fit Map level 4 and the Fit Map has no Orange Logic cell.
- Integrators need a published API with OAuth 2.0 and a documented rate limit per environment.
Choose Orange Logic when:
- Assets must sit in a storage provider and location you choose, across AWS, Microsoft Azure or Google Cloud.
- Some files must stay on local storage, connected through Media Bridge, or move to Amazon S3 Glacier as cold storage.
- The DAM must also cover media asset management or a corporate archive, both sold as Orange Logic For Teams offerings.
- Your team wants to build custom AI agents with its own models in Agent Studio.
Where Aprimo and Orange Logic differ
Aprimo and Orange Logic differ most in module scope, storage flexibility and how each documents its AI. The table adds documented differences to the verified facts table on this page.
| Topic | Aprimo | Orange Logic |
|---|---|---|
| Modules around the DAM | Content Portfolio Management, Plan, Spend, Productivity, Personalization | MAM, Brand Experiences, Corporate Archive |
| Buying unit | Quote by products and users, typically a 12-month initial term | For Teams (May 2026): team-level offerings that expand by team or module without migration |
| Storage options | SaaS on Microsoft Azure | AWS, Microsoft Azure or Google Cloud; hybrid through Media Bridge; Amazon S3 Glacier cold tier |
| Custom AI models | Not documented in the DAMSelection facts | Agent Studio accepts customer-connected models |
| Forrester claim reported by the vendor | Highest Current Offering score, 4.38 out of 5 | Highest possible score in 10 of the 22 criteria |
| API documentation | REST API with OAuth 2.0, OpenAPI specifications and a per-environment rate limit | Not verified in the DAMSelection facts |
DAMSelection assessment: both Forrester claims come from vendor releases. Read the Forrester criteria weights against your own priorities before quoting either score in a business case.
Product content and PIM integration
Aprimo shows deeper PIM connectors than Orange Logic in the PIM and DAM Fit Map, at level 4 for Akeneo, inriver, Salsify and Stibo STEP. Orange Logic reaches level 3 for inriver, Salsify and Stibo STEP. Level 4 means a native connector built by the DAM or the PIM vendor, and level 3 means a partner or marketplace connector.
| PIM | Aprimo | Orange Logic |
|---|---|---|
| Akeneo | Level 4: open source connector published by Aprimo, free, last listed update September 2024 | No Fit Map cell |
| inriver | Level 4: open source connector published by Aprimo on GitHub | Level 3: connector listed on the inRiver Partner Marketplace with an Orange Logic contact, no developer named |
| Salsify | Level 4: connector built and supported by Aprimo | Level 3: connector developed by partner Avyre, on the Orange Logic Marketplace |
| Stibo STEP | Level 4: connector developed by Stibo Systems | Level 3: add-on in the Stibo Connectivity Gallery, no developer named |
| Syndigo | No Fit Map cell | No Fit Map cell |
DAMSelection assessment: DAM and PIM form one product content supply chain. For Orange Logic, ask who built and supports the inriver and Stibo STEP listings, since neither names a developer. The inriver integration page and the Stibo STEP integration page list other candidates.
Hosting and security differences
Aprimo documents one cloud and an annual SOC 2 Type II audit, and Orange Logic documents a choice of three clouds without published certificates. Neither vendor publishes named hosting regions.
| Control | Aprimo | Orange Logic |
|---|---|---|
| Cloud | Microsoft Azure | AWS, Microsoft Azure or Google Cloud, chosen by the customer |
| On-premises option | Not documented | Local storage through Media Bridge |
| Regions published | None on the trust centre | None; customer selects provider and location |
| SOC 2 | SOC 2 Type II, audited annually | SOC 2 Type 2 named as an audit of controls, no report published |
| ISO/IEC 27001 | Not stated | Named as an audit of controls, no certificate published |
| Stated compliance | GDPR alignment | GDPR, HIPAA and FINRA |
Orange Logic leaves data residency to the storage location the customer selects. Aprimo buyers request the Azure region in writing. Use the security review guide to request certificates and reports from both.
Pricing model differences
Aprimo publishes its pricing structure without prices, and Orange Logic sells by contract quote, with one 36-month Orange DAM contract at USD 600,000 listed on AWS Marketplace. Both require a quote for the buyer's scope.
- Aprimo: quote by products chosen and number of users, typically on a 12-month initial term. Connectors are priced individually, and AI Elite is an add-on. The pricing page mentions no storage, bandwidth or AI credits.
- Orange Logic: For Teams sells DAM, MAM, Brand Experiences and Corporate Archive at team level. The AI features page publishes no pricing, add-on or credit terms.
DAMSelection assessment: storage, egress and AI credit consumption drive five-year DAM cost more than licence fees. Orange Logic storage choice and Glacier tiering change the storage line, so ask who pays the cloud provider. Model both quotes in the TCO calculator.
AI capabilities documented for each
Aprimo and Orange Logic both ship AI agents, and Aprimo publishes dated general availability statements while Orange Logic describes its features on product pages. Orange Logic lets customers connect their own models.
| Status | Aprimo | Orange Logic |
|---|---|---|
| Shipped | AI Agents (May 2025); AI Smart Tagging with custom tags; AI Content Detection reading CAI provenance data (AI Elite); Agentic DAM (March 2026); Content Portfolio Management (September 2026) | Agent Studio with prebuilt and custom agents that tag, check rights and route assets; plain-language, voice and scene-description search; auto-tagging to the customer taxonomy; face, logo and rights detection; tracking of AI-generated assets |
| Announced | Agents working inside third-party creative and martech tools, planned | NVIDIA Nemotron open models in Agent Studio (September 2026, no date); smart model matching, coming soon |
DAMSelection assessment: both vendors track AI-generated assets, so test detection on your own files. The guide to AI-generated assets covers the labelling questions.
What to test in a scripted demo
Aprimo and Orange Logic separate on six points that a scripted demo on your own assets can prove.
- Store one collection on Google Cloud and one on Azure in Orange Logic, and show the same search across both.
- Move 100 assets to S3 Glacier and restore one on demand, with the time it takes.
- Build an Orange Logic Agent Studio agent that checks rights on 50 of your licensed images, then run the Aprimo Compliance Agent on the same set.
- Run AI Content Detection in Aprimo and AI-generated asset tracking in Orange Logic on camera files and AI images.
- Sync one approved asset to your PIM through the listed connector and name the developer.
- Add a second team to an Orange Logic For Teams contract and show that no migration occurs.
Verified facts side by side
| Aprimo | Orange Logic | |
|---|---|---|
| DAMSelection segment | Enterprise content platforms | Enterprise content platforms |
| Forrester Wave DAM Q1 2026 | Leader | Leader |
| Headquarters | Indianapolis, United States, with offices in Amsterdam, Ghent, London, Manila and Melbourne | Irvine, California, United States, per the dateline of Orange Logic press releases from 2023 to 2025; no headquarters address is published |
| Parent company | Privately held; portfolio company of Marlin Equity Partners (stated by Marlin in July 2020, still listed in the Marlin portfolio) | Privately held, with a strategic growth investment from Bregal Sagemount in May 2023 (stake not disclosed) |
| Deployment model | SaaS on Microsoft Azure | Cloud platform with customer choice of AWS, Microsoft Azure or Google Cloud storage; hybrid with local storage through Media Bridge |
| Hosting regions | Not verified | Not verified |
| Data residency options | Not verified | Customer chooses the cloud provider and location where assets are stored; named regions not published |
| Security certifications | SOC 2 Type II, audited annually; GDPR alignment stated | GDPR, HIPAA and FINRA compliance stated; ISO 27001 and SOC 2 Type 2 named as audits of controls, with no certificate published on the page |
| Pricing archetype | Quote-based, priced by users and modules, with the AI Elite add-on and marketplace connectors priced separately | Contract-based quote; the AWS Marketplace listing shows a 36-month Orange DAM contract at USD 600,000 with overage fees billed on top |
| Native PIM connectors | Akeneo and inRiver listed on the Aprimo integrations page; the Akeneo connector is published by Aprimo as open source | Orange Logic Marketplace lists Salsify (developed by partner Avyre, bi-directional asset and metadata sync) and inriver (technology partner listing, bi-directional sync, builder not named) |
| Native creative tool connectors | Adobe Creative Cloud, Figma, Canva | Orange Logic plugin for Adobe Photoshop, Illustrator and InDesign, and a plugin for Figma, both listed on the Orange Logic Marketplace |
Facts link to their sources on each vendor profile. Scores on the 12 DAMSelection criteria publish after the scripted demo round.
Demo requests that separate them
- Configure our multi-brand, multi-region permission model live, using our org chart.
- Show one brief moving from request to approved, published asset across every module involved.
Migration between them
Migration effort depends on export completeness, metadata mapping and integrations to rebuild. Test a 500-asset export from the incumbent during the proof of concept.
Profiles: Aprimo profile and Orange Logic profile.
Frequently asked
Is Aprimo or Orange Logic better for enterprise DAM?
Aprimo and Orange Logic are both Forrester Leaders for Q1 2026 in the DAMSelection enterprise content platforms segment. DAMSelection assessment: Aprimo fits buyers who want planning and spend modules with the DAM. Orange Logic fits buyers who need storage choice, on-premises files or a corporate archive.
Can Orange Logic store assets on premises?
Orange Logic connects local storage to its cloud platform through Media Bridge, and offers storage on AWS, Microsoft Azure or Google Cloud. Cold assets can move to Amazon S3 Glacier with restore on demand. Aprimo runs as SaaS on Microsoft Azure.
Which is cheaper, Aprimo or Orange Logic?
Neither Aprimo nor Orange Logic publishes a price list on its website. Orange Logic's AWS Marketplace listing shows one 36-month Orange DAM contract at USD 600,000. Aprimo quotes by modules and users, with AI Elite and connectors extra. Orange Logic sells team-level offerings through For Teams and publishes no AI pricing terms. Compare five-year totals for the same scope, including storage.
Which has better PIM integration, Aprimo or Orange Logic?
Aprimo has level 4 connectors for Akeneo, inriver, Salsify and Stibo STEP in the Fit Map, and the Akeneo connector is open source. Orange Logic has level 3 listings for inriver, Salsify and Stibo STEP. Neither has a Syndigo cell.
Who owns Aprimo and Orange Logic?
Aprimo is privately held and a portfolio company of Marlin Equity Partners, confirmed in 2020. Orange Logic is privately held, with Brian McLaughlin as President and CEO in a June 2025 release, and a strategic growth investment from Bregal Sagemount in May 2023 of undisclosed size.
Sources
- The Forrester Wave: Digital Asset Management Systems, Q1 2026, Forrester report page
- Aprimo recognised as a Leader in DAM Systems evaluation, February 2026
- Aprimo pricing
- Aprimo integrations
- Aprimo trust centre: compliance
- Aprimo developer docs: rate limiting
- Aprimo developer docs: DAM developer tutorial
- Aprimo enablement: AI Smart Tagging
- Aprimo enablement: AI Content Detection
- Akeneo App Store: Aprimo integration
- Aprimo marketplace: inRiver connector
- Aprimo marketplace: Salsify connector
- Stibo Systems connectivity gallery: Aprimo
- Aprimo launches AI Agents, May 2025
- Aprimo unveils Agentic DAM, March 2026
- Aprimo launches Content Portfolio Management, September 2026
- CMSWire: Aprimo acquires ADAM Software, March 2017
- MarTech Series: Aprimo appoints Erik Huddleston as CEO, July 2020
- Orange Logic security
- Orange Logic cloud infrastructure
- Orange Logic artificial intelligence features
- Orange Logic named a Leader in DAM analyst report, February 2026
- Orange Logic launches For Teams, May 2026
- Orange Logic brings NVIDIA Nemotron to Agent Studio, September 2026
- Bregal Sagemount announces strategic growth investment in Orange Logic, May 2023
- inRiver Partner Marketplace: Orange Logic inRiver connector
- Orange Logic Marketplace: Salsify
- Stibo Systems connectivity gallery: Orange Logic
- Orange Logic: Enterprise DAM and MAM, AWS Marketplace
- Orange Logic appoints Ben Colenso as Managing Director, EMEA, Business Wire, June 2025