Comparison

OpenText vs Orange Logic: which DAM fits which team

Short answer

OpenText and Orange Logic are both Leaders in the Forrester Wave for DAM systems, Q1 2026, and both sit in the DAMSelection enterprise content platforms segment. OpenText Digital Asset Management fits organisations that must run the DAM on premises or in private cloud, next to SAP and Salesforce. Orange Logic fits teams that want to choose AWS, Azure or Google Cloud storage and buy by team.

Facts on this page are verified against vendor documentation and public sources, each linked. Scenario scores publish after the scripted demo round.

Verdict

DAMSelection assessment: OpenText suits buyers whose deployment model and SAP or Salesforce systems set the terms, and Orange Logic suits buyers led by storage location and team-by-team rollout. Scenario scores publish after the scripted demo round. The vendor directory lists every profile, and Aprimo vs Orange Logic covers an adjacent choice.

Choose OpenText when:

  • The DAM must run off cloud on your own infrastructure, in private cloud or as a managed service.
  • SAP Commerce runs your storefront, where OpenText documents preferred DAM status, or Salesforce Marketing Cloud and Sales Cloud need assets.
  • AI search must stay inside your environment: Aviator Search runs on OpenText Knowledge Discovery in private cloud or on premises.
  • A UK public body buys through G-Cloud 15, where OpenText lists the service with ISO/IEC 27001 and Cyber Essentials Plus.

Choose Orange Logic when:

  • Assets must sit on AWS, Microsoft Azure or Google Cloud, in a location you choose.
  • Cold assets should move to Amazon S3 Glacier with restore on demand, or some files must stay on local storage through Media Bridge.
  • One team buys first and others follow, through Orange Logic For Teams offerings that expand by team or module without migration.
  • Your PIM is inriver, where the Fit Map records a level 3 listing for Orange Logic and no OpenText cell.

Where OpenText and Orange Logic differ

OpenText and Orange Logic differ most in deployment options, product line-up and ownership signals. The table adds to the verified facts table on this page.

TopicOpenTextOrange Logic
DAM products soldTwo: OpenText Digital Asset Management, and OpenText Core Digital Asset Management as a separate SaaS productOne platform sold as DAM, MAM, Brand Experiences and Corporate Archive offerings
On-premises optionFull off-cloud deployment of the DAMLocal storage connected to the cloud platform through Media Bridge
Ownership signalPublic company exploring sale of non-core assets since August 2025; eDOCS and Vertica sold, no status given for DAMPrivately held; Bregal Sagemount growth investment in May 2023
Forrester claim reported by the vendorHighest possible scores for onboarding and metadata, immersive content, search, adoption and deliveryHighest possible score in 10 of the 22 criteria
Rights and review add-onsRights Cloud by FADEL; Acheron extensions for medical, legal and regulatory reviewRights detection and rights checks by Agent Studio agents

The OpenText release blog URL still carries the former name OpenText Media Management. DAMSelection assessment: name the exact product and edition in the quote, and ask OpenText in writing how the divestiture review affects the DAM line.

Product content and PIM integration

Orange Logic has more PIM evidence in the PIM and DAM Fit Map, with level 3 listings for inriver, Salsify and Stibo STEP. OpenText holds level 3 cells for Salsify and Stibo STEP, both from its own documentation with no builder named.

PIMOpenTextOrange Logic
AkeneoNo Fit Map cellNo Fit Map cell
inriverNo Fit Map cellLevel 3: listed on the inRiver Partner Marketplace with an Orange Logic contact, no developer named
SalsifyLevel 3: bidirectional Salsify PXM connector in the OpenText product overview, builder not statedLevel 3: connector developed by partner Avyre, on the Orange Logic Marketplace
Stibo STEPLevel 3: Stibo named in the OpenText PIM Integration Framework (2023), builder not statedLevel 3: add-on in the Stibo Connectivity Gallery, no developer named
SyndigoNo Fit Map cellNo Fit Map cell

DAMSelection assessment: DAM and PIM form one product content supply chain, so ask both vendors who builds and supports each connector. The Salsify integration page and the SAP Commerce Cloud page list other candidates.

Hosting and security differences

OpenText offers on-premises, private cloud and managed hosting with stated certificates for its G-Cloud service, and Orange Logic offers a choice of three public clouds without published certificates.

ControlOpenTextOrange Logic
Hosting choiceOff cloud, OpenText Private Cloud or managed serviceAWS, Microsoft Azure or Google Cloud, chosen by the customer
Regions documentedG-Cloud: UK, EEA and other unnamed locations; OpenText Private Cloud data centres include Canada, UK, Germany, France and AustraliaNone; customer selects provider and location
ISO/IEC 27001Stated for the G-Cloud DAM service, accredited 23 June 2025Named as an audit of controls, no certificate published
SOC 2Not stated on the G-Cloud listingSOC 2 Type 2 named as an audit of controls, no report published
OtherCyber Essentials and Cyber Essentials PlusGDPR, HIPAA and FINRA compliance stated
RecoveryG-Cloud standard recovery time objective of 7 days; faster recovery sold as an add-onNo uptime SLA named on the infrastructure page

The OpenText Private Cloud release does not name the DAM, so confirm which data centre hosts your tenant. Orange Logic ties data residency to the location the customer selects. The security review guide lists the evidence to request from both.

Pricing model differences

OpenText publishes per-user list prices through the UK G-Cloud 15 price list. Orange Logic sells by contract quote, and its AWS Marketplace listing shows one 36-month Orange DAM contract at USD 600,000. Orange Logic publishes no AI pricing, add-on or credit terms.

  • OpenText on G-Cloud 15: GBP 240 per standard user per year and GBP 850 per 100 registered consumer users per year. Terms: 3 years, 50-user minimum, 10 TB storage, hosting and support included, 7.5% annual increase. Experience Aviator pricing is not listed.
  • Orange Logic: For Teams sells DAM, MAM, Brand Experiences and Corporate Archive at team level. The AWS Marketplace listing shows a 36-month Orange DAM contract at USD 600,000, with overage fees billed on top.

Worked example on G-Cloud list prices: 100 standard users cost GBP 24,000, GBP 25,800 and GBP 27,735 in years 1 to 3. The total of GBP 77,535 excludes consumer users, add-ons and AI. The list assumes 2,000 users, so a commercial quote may differ.

DAMSelection assessment: storage, egress and AI credits drive five-year DAM cost more than licence fees. Ask OpenText the price above 10 TB, and Orange Logic who pays the cloud provider. Model both quotes in the TCO calculator.

AI capabilities documented for each

OpenText documents dated AI releases with a choice of engine, and Orange Logic documents agents that customers build and connect to their own models. Both vendors name AI work still to come.

StatusOpenTextOrange Logic
ShippedAviator Search (May 2025): natural language and reverse image search, AI asset summary; engine choice of Knowledge Discovery or Google Gemini (December 2025); tagging through Azure, Amazon, Google or Knowledge Discovery vision services; video transcripts; Vertex AI Imagen images on the customer's own Google accountAgent Studio agents that tag, check rights and route assets; plain-language, voice and scene search; auto-tagging to the customer taxonomy; face, logo and rights detection; AI-generated asset tracking
AnnouncedMore immersive experiences and expanded generative AI, February 2026, no datesNVIDIA Nemotron open models in Agent Studio (September 2026, no date); smart model matching, coming soon

DAMSelection assessment: OpenText suits buyers who keep AI processing on their own infrastructure, and Orange Logic suits buyers who plug in their own models.

What to test in a scripted demo

OpenText and Orange Logic separate on six points that a scripted demo on your own assets can prove.

  1. Run Aviator Search on Knowledge Discovery and on Google Gemini against 200 of your assets, using five real search phrases.
  2. Store one collection on Azure and one on Google Cloud in Orange Logic, then show one search across both.
  3. Move 100 assets to Amazon S3 Glacier and restore one on demand, with the time it takes.
  4. Check rights on 50 licensed images with an Orange Logic Agent Studio agent and with OpenText plus Rights Cloud by FADEL.
  5. Push one approved asset to your PIM through each vendor's connector, and name the developer and support party.
  6. Restore a deleted asset in each system and state the recovery time objective in the contract.

Verified facts side by side

OpenTextOrange Logic
DAMSelection segmentEnterprise content platformsEnterprise content platforms
Forrester Wave DAM Q1 2026LeaderLeader
HeadquartersWaterloo, Ontario, CanadaIrvine, California, United States, per the dateline of Orange Logic press releases from 2023 to 2025; no headquarters address is published
Parent companyOpenText, publicly listed on NASDAQ and TSX under the ticker OTEXPrivately held, with a strategic growth investment from Bregal Sagemount in May 2023 (stake not disclosed)
Deployment modelOpenText Digital Asset Management runs off cloud (on-premises), in private cloud or as a managed service; OpenText Core Digital Asset Management is a separate SaaS productCloud platform with customer choice of AWS, Microsoft Azure or Google Cloud storage; hybrid with local storage through Media Bridge
Hosting regionsUK G-Cloud service stores and processes data in the United Kingdom, the European Economic Area and other unnamed locations, on OpenText Cloud infrastructureNot verified
Data residency optionsOpenText Private Cloud offers single-tenant environments with data centres including Canada, UK, Germany, France and Australia; on-premises deployment keeps data on customer infrastructureCustomer chooses the cloud provider and location where assets are stored; named regions not published
Security certificationsISO/IEC 27001 (accredited by Schellman, 23 June 2025), Cyber Essentials and Cyber Essentials Plus, stated for the G-Cloud DAM serviceGDPR, HIPAA and FINRA compliance stated; ISO 27001 and SOC 2 Type 2 named as audits of controls, with no certificate published on the page
Pricing archetypePer-user annual subscription with registered consumer user packs; G-Cloud 15 lists GBP 240 per standard user per yearContract-based quote; the AWS Marketplace listing shows a 36-month Orange DAM contract at USD 600,000 with overage fees billed on top
Native PIM connectorsSalsify ProductXM connector; PIM Integration Framework (2023) with integrations named for SAP, Stibo, Riversand and SalsifyOrange Logic Marketplace lists Salsify (developed by partner Avyre, bi-directional asset and metadata sync) and inriver (technology partner listing, bi-directional sync, builder not named)
Native creative tool connectorsAdobe Photoshop, Illustrator, InDesign, InCopy, Premiere Pro and After Effects; Adobe Creative Cloud add-on; Figma, Sketch and CI Hub listedOrange Logic plugin for Adobe Photoshop, Illustrator and InDesign, and a plugin for Figma, both listed on the Orange Logic Marketplace

Facts link to their sources on each vendor profile. Scores on the 12 DAMSelection criteria publish after the scripted demo round.

Demo requests that separate them

  1. Configure our multi-brand, multi-region permission model live, using our org chart.
  2. Show one brief moving from request to approved, published asset across every module involved.

Migration between them

Migration effort depends on export completeness, metadata mapping and integrations to rebuild. Test a 500-asset export from the incumbent during the proof of concept.

Profiles: OpenText profile and Orange Logic profile.

Frequently asked

Is OpenText or Orange Logic better for enterprise DAM?

OpenText and Orange Logic are both Forrester Leaders for Q1 2026. DAMSelection assessment: OpenText fits buyers who need on-premises or private cloud deployment and SAP or Salesforce integration. Orange Logic fits buyers who want storage choice across three clouds and team-level buying.

Can OpenText DAM run on premises?

OpenText Digital Asset Management runs off cloud on customer infrastructure, in private cloud or as a managed service. OpenText Core Digital Asset Management is a separate SaaS product. Orange Logic connects local storage to its cloud platform through Media Bridge.

Which is cheaper, OpenText or Orange Logic?

OpenText publishes UK G-Cloud 15 list prices of GBP 240 per standard user per year on a 3-year term with a 7.5% annual increase. Orange Logic lists one 36-month Orange DAM contract at USD 600,000 on AWS Marketplace. Compare five-year totals for the same scope.

Is OpenText selling its DAM business?

OpenText began exploring the sale of non-core assets in August 2025 and has sold eDOCS and Vertica since. The coverage gives no status for the DAM line. Ask OpenText for a written roadmap commitment before signing.

Which has better PIM integration, OpenText or Orange Logic?

Orange Logic has level 3 Fit Map listings for inriver, Salsify and Stibo STEP. OpenText has level 3 cells for Salsify and Stibo STEP. OpenText documents a bidirectional Salsify PXM connector and a PIM Integration Framework naming SAP, Stibo, Riversand and Salsify.

Sources

Run your selection with PIMvendors

Vendor-neutral DAM selection with scripted demos on your own assets.

Book a selection call