Comparison

Bynder vs Canto: which DAM fits which team

Short answer

Bynder and Canto are both brand and marketing DAM platforms on AWS with ISO 27001:2022 and SOC 2 reports. Bynder fits buyers who want a Leader from the Forrester DAM Wave, Q1 2026, and partner connectors for Salsify and inriver. Canto fits product-led brands that need SKU-linked assets synced to Shopify and Amazon, or hosting in Canada or Australia.

Facts on this page are verified against vendor documentation and public sources, each linked. Scenario scores publish after the scripted demo round.

Verdict

DAMSelection assessment: the verdict rests on documented Passport facts and Fit Map cells. Scores on the 12 DAMSelection criteria publish after the scripted demo round.

Choose Bynder when:

  • The PIM is Salsify or inriver, where Bynder has partner connectors (Fit Map level 3) and Canto has no Fit Map cell.
  • The security review asks for ISO 27018 and ISO 22301 next to ISO 27001 and SOC 2 Type II.
  • The shortlist policy requires a Leader from the Forrester Wave for DAM systems, Q1 2026.
  • Speech-to-text must cover many languages: Bynder documents transcription from over 100 languages.

Choose Canto when:

  • Product teams need images linked to SKUs and attributes, with assets and metadata synced to Shopify and Amazon through Canto DAM for Products.
  • Data must sit in Canada or Australia: Canto lets the customer choose the region across five AWS locations.
  • Creative teams work in Lightroom next to Photoshop, InDesign and Premiere Pro, all listed on the Canto integrations page.

Where Bynder and Canto differ

Bynder and Canto differ most in product scope for commerce, in AI packaging and in ownership structure. The table adds documented facts that the side-by-side Passport table does not cover.

TopicBynderCanto
Founded20131990, per a Canto-authored company bio
Ownership eventsAgreement to buy Webdam from Shutterstock announced in 2018, for USD 49.1 million; Thomas H. Lee Partners majority investment announced December 2022JMI Equity strategic growth investment in March 2021, stake not disclosed
Product content moduleNo dedicated module documentedCanto PIM launched December 2024, now marketed as Canto DAM for Products
Commerce connectors namedShopify, SAP Commerce Cloud, Salesforce Commerce CloudShopify and Amazon, as part of DAM for Products
Work managementAdobe Workfront FusionAdobe Workfront, Asana, monday.com, Wrike
AI packagingAI search features require a contract upgradeAI Visual Search and AI Library Assistant are add-ons that run only in the New Library interface

Canto XI, launched in October 2025, added Brand Studio, Approval Hub, AI Library Assistant and Media Publisher. Bynder sells Asset Workflow, Content Workflow, Studio and Analytics as modules. The vendor directory holds both profiles and the sibling pages Brandfolder vs Bynder and Canto vs Frontify.

Product content and PIM integration

Bynder reaches more PIM platforms through partners, while Canto pairs a narrower PIM reach with its own product content module. Both vendors tie at level 4 on Stibo STEP, where Stibo Systems builds the connector.

PIMBynderCanto
AkeneoLevel 3: partner connectors from Induxx and Dataggo, plus a Gournay Consulting appLevel 3: CA-Connect, built by The P.I.M. Company GmbH
SalsifyLevel 3: four partner apps from Gournay Consulting, Lettuce Commerce, The 543 Group and SitationNo Fit Map cell
inriverLevel 3: Ntara, Ctac, XSARUS and Lettuce CommerceNo Fit Map cell
Stibo STEPLevel 4: connector built by Stibo SystemsLevel 4: connector built by Stibo Systems, exchanging STEP XML in both directions
SyndigoLevel 3: Bynder-Syndigo Connector from integration partner brix Solutions AGNo Fit Map cell

Canto DAM for Products links images to SKUs and attributes and syncs assets and metadata to Shopify and Amazon. The September 2026 Canto release also names a Product Hub MCP. DAMSelection assessment: a buyer with a separate PIM should decide which system owns the SKU-to-image link before the demo. DAM for Products and the PIM can both claim it.

The Canto Akeneo connector is labelled Partner Supported by Canto and priced on quote by The P.I.M. Company. Bynder builds none of its PIM connectors. DAMSelection assessment: for either vendor, name the party that fixes a broken sync and put its response time in the contract. The PIM and DAM Fit Map and the Akeneo integration page hold the full evidence.

Hosting and security differences

Bynder and Canto both host on Amazon Web Services and both let the customer choose where data lives, with different region sets. Canto covers Canada and Australia; Bynder covers Tokyo and offers a Global option.

Hosting itemBynderCanto
Documented AWS locationsFrankfurt, N. Virginia, California, Tokyo; US-only option documented as Ohio and OregonIreland, Germany, US West, Canada Central, Australia
Residency choicesEU-only, US-only or GlobalUS, EU, Canada or Australia
Extra ISO standardsISO 27018:2019, ISO 22301:2019None listed beyond ISO/IEC 27001:2022

The Bynder EU-only option sits in Frankfurt and keeps customer data inside the European Economic Area. The Bynder Global option keeps assets in the upload region and replicates metadata to all regions. Canto provides its annual SOC 2 Type 2 report under NDA, and Bynder provides summary reports under NDA.

DAMSelection assessment: Bynder documents two sets of US locations, so confirm the exact region in the contract. Ask Canto which region processes AI features, since the Canto AI terms name no processing regions. The data residency entry lists the questions to ask.

Pricing model differences

Neither Bynder nor Canto publishes prices on its pricing page, and both scale the quote on storage. The named drivers differ.

  • Bynder builds a custom package from modules such as DAM, Bynder AI, Asset Workflow, Content Workflow, Studio and Analytics. The pricing FAQ names users, storage and usage as drivers.
  • Canto lists four packages without prices and calls them illustrative. Pricing scales with team size and storage, and AI search and tagging appear in the higher packages.
  • Neither pricing page mentions AI credits.

DAMSelection assessment: storage, egress and AI consumption drive five-year DAM cost more than licence fees. Ask each vendor to quote one identical scenario:

  1. Asset count, storage at go-live and annual growth.
  2. Internal users and external portal users.
  3. AI features in scope: the Bynder AI search upgrade, Canto AI Visual Search and AI Library Assistant.
  4. Product content scope: Canto DAM for Products, or the partner PIM connector on either side.

Run both quotes through the TCO calculator.

AI capabilities documented for each

Bynder and Canto both document shipped AI search and metadata features, and both sell them as upgrades or add-ons. Only Bynder documents announced features still in early access.

Capability areaBynderCanto
Visual and semantic searchNatural Language Search, fully optimised for English; Similarity Search and Search by ImageAI Visual Search with Find Visually Similar; video cannot serve as the reference
Metadata assistanceAI Face Recognition, AI-Powered Duplicate Finder, Text-in-Image SearchAI Library Assistant suggests keywords, tags, custom field values and albums from similar assets and the taxonomy
Bulk and agent featuresAI Agents in early access since March 2025; Compliance Agent announced December 2025 without an availability statusAI Bulk Update Assistant, Product Hub MCP and AI Portals, described in September 2026 as shipped
Audio and videoSpeech-to-Text from over 100 languagesNo speech-to-text documented

DAMSelection assessment: the Canto add-ons run only in the New Library interface, so confirm the interface version in the demo tenant. Bynder states that Natural Language Search is fully optimised for English only. See AI in DAM for how to test AI claims.

What to test to separate them in a scripted demo

Bynder and Canto separate fastest on product content, region proof and AI. Add these tests to the demo script:

  1. Link 50 product images to SKUs from a PIM export. Canto shows DAM for Products; Bynder shows its PIM partner app with the partner present.
  2. Publish five products to Shopify with images and metadata, then change one attribute and show the update path.
  3. Show in the admin console where files, metadata, backups and AI processing sit.
  4. Run AI-assisted metadata on 100 unseen images and count accepted suggestions per asset.
  5. Run five natural-language or visual searches in Dutch or German.
  6. Quote the same configuration twice: with and without every AI add-on.

Verified facts side by side

BynderCanto
DAMSelection segmentBrand and marketing DAMBrand and marketing DAM
Forrester Wave DAM Q1 2026LeaderNot listed as Leader
HeadquartersAmsterdam, Netherlands, with office hubs in the United States, Spain, the UK, Australia and the UAEAtlanta, United States, with offices in Berlin, Cork and Sydney
Parent companyThomas H. Lee Partners (THL), majority investor; investment announced December 2022 and listed by THL as a current 2023 investmentPrivately held; JMI Equity made a strategic growth investment in 2021 (stake not disclosed)
Deployment modelCloud SaaS hosted on Amazon Web ServicesCloud SaaS hosted on AWS
Hosting regionsChosen per hosting option before the environment is configured: Global uses AWS Tokyo, Frankfurt, N. Virginia and California; US-only uses Ohio and Oregon; Frankfurt is the default locationAWS regions in Ireland, Germany, US West, Canada Central and Australia
Data residency optionsEU-only (Frankfurt, data stays in the EEA), US-only (Ohio primary, Oregon failover, no replication outside the US) or Global (assets stay in the upload region, metadata replicates to all regions)Customer selects the AWS region that holds its data (US, EU, Canada or Australia)
Security certificationsSOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001:2022, ISO 27018:2019, ISO 22301:2019; GDPR, CCPA and HIPAA compliance statedISO/IEC 27001:2022; annual SOC 2 Type 2 report available under NDA; HIPAA compliance stated
Pricing archetypeQuote-based custom package built from modules, priced on users, storage and usageQuote-based packages (DAM, DAM PLUS, DAM for Products, DAM PRO) scaled by team size and storage; one AWS Marketplace offer published
Native PIM connectorsNo Bynder-built PIM connector found; the Bynder Marketplace lists partner-built apps for Akeneo (Dataggo, Induxx NV, Gournay Consulting), Salsify, inriver and StiboAkeneo through CA-Connect, built by partner The P.I.M. Company and labelled Partner Supported; Canto also sells its own DAM for Products module
Native creative tool connectorsAdobe CC Connector for InDesign, Photoshop, Illustrator, Premiere Pro and After Effects, developed by LinkrUI and labelled Bynder supportedAdobe Photoshop, Illustrator, InDesign, Premiere Pro, After Effects and Lightroom; Figma; Canva

Facts link to their sources on each vendor profile. Scores on the 12 DAMSelection criteria publish after the scripted demo round.

Demo requests that separate them

  1. Set up a brand portal for an external agency with our guidelines in under 30 minutes.
  2. Show what a regional marketer sees and can do, logged in with that role.

Migration between them

Migration effort depends on export completeness, metadata mapping and integrations to rebuild. Test a 500-asset export from the incumbent during the proof of concept.

Profiles: Bynder profile and Canto profile.

Frequently asked

Is Bynder or Canto better for product content?

Canto documents a dedicated product content module: DAM for Products links images to SKUs and attributes and syncs to Shopify and Amazon. Bynder documents partner connectors for Akeneo, Salsify, inriver and Syndigo, and a Stibo-built connector for Stibo STEP. Choose by where the SKU-to-image link should live: in the DAM or in the PIM.

Does Canto offer EU data hosting?

Canto offers EU hosting in Ireland and Germany, next to US West, Canada Central and Australia. The customer chooses the region that holds its data. Bynder offers an EU-only option in Frankfurt that keeps customer data inside the European Economic Area.

How much do Bynder and Canto cost?

Bynder and Canto publish no prices on their pricing pages. Bynder prices a modular package on users, storage and usage. Canto lists four illustrative packages that scale with team size and storage. Both sell AI search as an upgrade or in higher packages, so request quotes with and without AI and compare five-year totals.

Which has better AI, Bynder or Canto?

Bynder documents more AI search features, including text-in-image search, face recognition and speech-to-text from over 100 languages. Canto documents AI Visual Search, AI-assisted metadata and bulk updates. Both vendors sell AI as an add-on or upgrade, so test each feature on your own assets before pricing it.

Who owns Bynder and Canto?

Thomas H. Lee Partners announced a majority investment in Bynder in December 2022, buying the stake of Insight Partners. Canto is privately held; JMI Equity made a strategic growth investment in March 2021 without disclosing the stake.

Sources

Run your selection with PIMvendors

Vendor-neutral DAM selection with scripted demos on your own assets.

Book a selection call