Comparison

Bynder vs Frontify: which DAM fits which team

Short answer

Bynder and Frontify are both brand and marketing DAM platforms with AWS hosting in Frankfurt. Bynder fits buyers who want a Leader from the Forrester DAM Wave, Q1 2026, and PIM reach into Stibo STEP, Akeneo and inriver. Frontify fits brand teams on Salsify, Adobe and Figma, because Frontify builds those integrations itself and includes the Adobe and Figma ones on all plans.

Facts on this page are verified against vendor documentation and public sources, each linked. Scenario scores publish after the scripted demo round.

Verdict

DAMSelection assessment: the verdict rests on documented Passport facts and Fit Map cells. Scores on the 12 DAMSelection criteria publish after the scripted demo round.

Choose Bynder when:

  • The PIM is Stibo STEP (connector built by Stibo Systems, Fit Map level 4), or Akeneo or inriver (partner connectors, level 3).
  • EU hosting must hold on a smaller contract: Frontify documents the region choice for enterprise customers only, and Bynder lists EU-only as one of three hosting options.
  • The shortlist policy requires a Leader from the Forrester Wave for DAM systems, Q1 2026.
  • Video libraries need speech-to-text: Bynder documents transcription from over 100 languages.

Choose Frontify when:

  • Salsify is the PIM of record, because Frontify develops its own Salsify integration (Fit Map level 4, Enterprise plan).
  • Designers work in Adobe Creative Cloud and Figma, where Frontify builds both integrations and includes them on all plans.
  • The security review asks for TISAX or Cyber Essentials, or for a published subprocessor list with processing locations.
  • Brand guideline content must sit next to the assets, with a Brand Assistant and AI Translations for guideline content.

Where Bynder and Frontify differ

Bynder and Frontify differ most in who builds the connectors, how pricing counts users and how much of the processing chain is published. The table adds documented facts that the side-by-side Passport table does not cover.

TopicBynderFrontify
Founded20132013, by Roger Dudler
Ownership eventsAgreement to buy Webdam from Shutterstock announced in 2018, for USD 49.1 million; Thomas H. Lee Partners majority investment announced December 2022Venture backed; USD 50 million Series C led by Revaia in September 2021
Creative connector builderAdobe CC Connector developed by LinkrUI and labelled Bynder supported; Figma app by Figmage, labelled Partner supportedAdobe CC Libraries integration and Figma plugin developed by Frontify
Pricing unit namedUsers, storage and usageMonthly active users, including external partners who log in
TenancyNot stated in the verified sourcesEnterprise data in a virtual private cloud with a logically separated database and dedicated file storage
AI processing locationNot stated in the verified sourcesTrust centre names Microsoft Azure AI services in Germany
Delivery linksNot stated in the verified sourcesStatic and dynamic CDN links with resize, crop and format parameters; dynamic links rolled out in stages

Both vendors were founded in 2013. Bynder has a private equity majority owner, and Frontify is privately held and venture backed. The vendor directory holds the sibling pages Canto vs Frontify and Bynder vs Canto.

Product content and PIM integration

Bynder covers five PIM platforms in the Fit Map, mostly through partners, while Frontify builds a Salsify integration and co-builds an Akeneo one. Frontify leads on Salsify depth, and Bynder leads on PIM breadth.

PIMBynderFrontify
SalsifyLevel 3: four partner apps from Gournay Consulting, Lettuce Commerce, The 543 Group and SitationLevel 4: integration developed by Frontify
AkeneoLevel 3: partner connectors from Induxx and Dataggo, plus a Gournay Consulting appLevel 3: integration provided by Frontify and built with partner Activo
inriverLevel 3: Ntara, Ctac, XSARUS and Lettuce CommerceNo Fit Map cell
Stibo STEPLevel 4: connector built by Stibo SystemsNo Fit Map cell
SyndigoLevel 3: Bynder-Syndigo Connector from integration partner brix Solutions AGNo Fit Map cell

The Frontify Akeneo integration sends assets one way, from Frontify to Akeneo, as CDN URLs. Metadata syncs in both directions, nightly by default, and only one main image per product identifier syncs. DAMSelection assessment: that limit rules out Frontify as the gallery source for Akeneo products with many images, unless a demo shows otherwise.

Every Bynder PIM connector comes from a partner or from the PIM vendor. DAMSelection assessment: name the party that fixes a broken sync and put its response time in the contract. The PIM and DAM Fit Map holds the full matrix.

Hosting and security differences

Bynder and Frontify both host on AWS with an EU option in Frankfurt; Frontify documents the region choice for enterprise customers only. Frontify also publishes more of its processing chain.

Security itemBynderFrontify
EU optionEU-only in Frankfurt, no customer data outside the EEAFrankfurt for enterprise customers
Other optionsUS-only, or Global with assets in the upload region and metadata replicated to all regionsNorth Virginia
Extra standardsISO 27018:2019, ISO 22301:2019TISAX, Cyber Essentials
SubprocessorsNot stated in the verified sources8 subprocessors with processing locations on the trust centre

Both vendors list ISO 27001:2022 and SOC 2 Type II. Bynder runs annual third-party audits and shares summary reports under NDA. DAMSelection assessment: a European buyer on a non-enterprise contract should ask Frontify in writing where its tenant would sit. The data residency entry lists the questions to ask.

Pricing model differences

Neither Bynder nor Frontify publishes prices, and the two count users differently. That difference decides cost for brand portals with many agencies.

  • Bynder builds a custom package from modules such as DAM, Bynder AI, Asset Workflow, Content Workflow, Studio and Analytics, priced on users, storage and usage.
  • Frontify bills on monthly active users. External partners who log in count as users, and six-month averaging sets the yearly payment.
  • Neither pricing page mentions AI credits.

Worked example: a portal with 40 internal users and 200 agency users who log in monthly counts 240 monthly active users under the Frontify model. Ask Bynder how the same 200 agency users count under its user driver.

DAMSelection assessment: storage, egress and AI consumption drive five-year DAM cost more than licence fees. Model both quotes in the TCO calculator.

AI capabilities documented for each

Bynder and Frontify both document shipped AI search and tagging. Bynder sells AI search as a contract upgrade and has agents in early access. Frontify lists its AI capabilities in an Agentic hub article of August 2026.

Capability areaBynderFrontify
SearchNatural Language Search, fully optimised for English; Similarity Search, Search by Image, Text-in-Image SearchEnhanced Image Search from natural-language queries; OCR-based Content Search in PDFs, presentations and scans
Tagging and metadataAI Face Recognition, AI-Powered Duplicate FinderAuto-tagging for images and H.264 video; Predictive Metadata; Duplicate Detection
Brand and assistantsAI Agents in early access since March 2025Brand Assistant trained on brand guidelines; AI Translations for guideline content
AI tool connectivityText-in-image search and speech-to-text usable through the APIMCP server connecting ChatGPT, Claude, Cursor and Figma to Frontify assets and guidelines
AnnouncedCompliance Agent, December 2025, without an availability statusNone documented

DAMSelection assessment: ask Frontify which plan includes each Agentic hub capability. Bynder states that Natural Language Search is fully optimised for English only. See AI in DAM for how to test AI claims.

What to test to separate them in a scripted demo

Bynder and Frontify separate fastest on PIM sync, design tool round trips and user counting. Add these tests to the demo script:

  1. Push 50 images for 10 products to the PIM, with several images per product, and show what arrives.
  2. Place a brand asset in InDesign and Figma, edit it, and send it back. Bynder brings the LinkrUI and Figmage partners.
  3. Invite 20 agency users to the brand portal and show the cost impact on the quote.
  4. Show in the admin console where files, metadata and AI processing sit.
  5. Run five natural-language searches in Dutch or German.
  6. Ask the Frontify Brand Assistant three questions from your own guidelines.

Verified facts side by side

BynderFrontify
DAMSelection segmentBrand and marketing DAMBrand and marketing DAM
Forrester Wave DAM Q1 2026LeaderNot listed as Leader
HeadquartersAmsterdam, Netherlands, with office hubs in the United States, Spain, the UK, Australia and the UAESt. Gallen, Switzerland, with offices in New York and London
Parent companyThomas H. Lee Partners (THL), majority investor; investment announced December 2022 and listed by THL as a current 2023 investmentPrivately held and venture backed; latest verified round is a USD 50 million Series C led by Revaia in September 2021, with EQT Ventures, Blossom Capital, Tenderloin Ventures and HighSage Ventures
Deployment modelCloud SaaS hosted on Amazon Web ServicesCloud SaaS hosted on AWS; enterprise data sits in a virtual private cloud with a logically separated database and dedicated file storage
Hosting regionsChosen per hosting option before the environment is configured: Global uses AWS Tokyo, Frankfurt, N. Virginia and California; US-only uses Ohio and Oregon; Frankfurt is the default locationAWS North Virginia (US) or Frankfurt (Germany), with a worldwide CDN
Data residency optionsEU-only (Frankfurt, data stays in the EEA), US-only (Ohio primary, Oregon failover, no replication outside the US) or Global (assets stay in the upload region, metadata replicates to all regions)Enterprise customers choose US or EU hosting; the trust centre lists 8 subprocessors with processing locations
Security certificationsSOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001:2022, ISO 27018:2019, ISO 22301:2019; GDPR, CCPA and HIPAA compliance statedISO 27001:2022, SOC 2 Type II, TISAX, Cyber Essentials; HIPAA, DCSO and Microsoft SSPA also listed
Pricing archetypeQuote-based custom package built from modules, priced on users, storage and usageQuote-based, priced on monthly active users (MAU)
Native PIM connectorsNo Bynder-built PIM connector found; the Bynder Marketplace lists partner-built apps for Akeneo (Dataggo, Induxx NV, Gournay Consulting), Salsify, inriver and StiboSalsify integration developed by Frontify (Enterprise plan); Akeneo integration provided by Frontify and built in partnership with Activo
Native creative tool connectorsAdobe CC Connector for InDesign, Photoshop, Illustrator, Premiere Pro and After Effects, developed by LinkrUI and labelled Bynder supportedAdobe CC Libraries integration (Photoshop, Illustrator, InDesign) and Figma plugin, both developed by Frontify and free on all plans

Facts link to their sources on each vendor profile. Scores on the 12 DAMSelection criteria publish after the scripted demo round.

Demo requests that separate them

  1. Set up a brand portal for an external agency with our guidelines in under 30 minutes.
  2. Show what a regional marketer sees and can do, logged in with that role.

Migration between them

Migration effort depends on export completeness, metadata mapping and integrations to rebuild. Test a 500-asset export from the incumbent during the proof of concept.

Profiles: Bynder profile and Frontify profile.

Frequently asked

Is Bynder or Frontify better for brand guidelines?

Frontify documents more guideline features. Frontify offers a Brand Assistant trained on the customer's guidelines, AI Translations for guideline content and Adobe CC Libraries that carry brand colours and fonts into design tools. Bynder documents Studio and workflow modules. Test both with your own guideline content in a scripted demo.

Does Frontify offer EU data hosting?

Frontify offers AWS hosting in Frankfurt, with North Virginia as the alternative. The Frontify security page documents that region choice for enterprise customers and describes no choice for other packages. Bynder documents an EU-only option in Frankfurt that keeps customer data inside the European Economic Area.

How does Frontify pricing work?

Frontify publishes no prices and bills on monthly active users. External partners who log in count as users, and six-month averaging sets the yearly payment. Bynder also publishes no prices and builds a modular package priced on users, storage and usage. Compare both on identical user counts.

Which PIM systems connect to Bynder and Frontify?

Bynder has partner connectors for Akeneo, Salsify, inriver and Syndigo, plus a Stibo Systems connector for Stibo STEP. Frontify develops its own Salsify integration (Fit Map level 4) and provides an Akeneo integration built with Activo (level 3) that syncs one main image per product identifier.

Is Bynder or Frontify a Forrester Leader?

Forrester named Bynder a Leader in The Forrester Wave for digital asset management systems, Q1 2026, next to Adobe, Aprimo, OpenText and Orange Logic. Frontify does not appear on that Leaders list. DAMSelection treats the listing as one input and scores both vendors on scripted demo evidence.

Sources

Run your selection with PIMvendors

Vendor-neutral DAM selection with scripted demos on your own assets.

Book a selection call