Short answer
Canto and Frontify are both brand and marketing DAM platforms on AWS with ISO 27001:2022 and SOC 2 reports. Canto fits product-led brands that need SKU-linked assets synced to Shopify and Amazon, or Stibo STEP integration. Frontify fits brand teams on Salsify, Adobe and Figma, because Frontify builds those integrations itself and includes the Adobe and Figma ones on all plans.
Facts on this page are verified against vendor documentation and public sources, each linked. Scenario scores publish after the scripted demo round.
Verdict
DAMSelection assessment: the verdict rests on documented Passport facts and Fit Map cells. Scores on the 12 DAMSelection criteria publish after the scripted demo round.
Choose Canto when:
- The PIM is Stibo STEP, where Stibo Systems builds a Canto connector that exchanges STEP XML in both directions (Fit Map level 4).
- Product teams need images linked to SKUs and attributes, synced to Shopify and Amazon through Canto DAM for Products.
- Data must sit in Canada or Australia, or region choice must hold on a non-enterprise contract: Frontify documents the choice for enterprise customers only.
Choose Frontify when:
- Salsify is the PIM of record, because Frontify develops its own Salsify integration (Fit Map level 4, Enterprise plan).
- Designers work in Adobe Creative Cloud and Figma, where Frontify builds both integrations and includes them on all plans.
- The security review asks for TISAX or Cyber Essentials, or for a published subprocessor list with processing locations.
- Brand guideline content must sit next to the assets, with a Brand Assistant and AI Translations for guideline content.
Where Canto and Frontify differ
Canto and Frontify differ most in product content scope, pricing unit and how much of the processing chain each publishes. The table adds documented facts that the side-by-side Passport table does not cover.
| Topic | Canto | Frontify |
|---|---|---|
| Founded | 1990, per a Canto-authored company bio | 2013, by Roger Dudler |
| Ownership events | JMI Equity strategic growth investment in March 2021, stake not disclosed | USD 22.3 million Series B led by EQT Ventures in January 2020; USD 50 million Series C led by Revaia in September 2021 |
| Product content module | Canto PIM launched December 2024, now marketed as Canto DAM for Products | No dedicated module documented |
| Pricing unit named | Team size and storage | Monthly active users, including external partners who log in |
| AI processing location | Canto AI terms name no processing regions | Trust centre names Microsoft Azure AI services in Germany |
| Tenancy | Not stated in the verified sources | Enterprise data in a virtual private cloud with a logically separated database |
| Commerce connectors named | Shopify and Amazon, as part of DAM for Products | Shopify |
| Delivery links | Not stated in the verified sources | Static and dynamic CDN links with resize, crop and format parameters |
Canto XI, launched in October 2025, added Brand Studio, Approval Hub, AI Library Assistant and Media Publisher. Frontify documents integrations with Shopify, WordPress, Sitecore Content Hub, Adobe Workfront and Sprinklr. The vendor directory holds the sibling pages Bynder vs Canto and Bynder vs Frontify.
Product content and PIM integration
Canto and Frontify reach different PIM platforms at the top Fit Map level: Canto through a Stibo-built STEP connector, Frontify through its own Salsify integration. Both connect to Akeneo at Fit Map level 3, with partner involvement and different documented behaviour.
| PIM | Canto | Frontify |
|---|---|---|
| Stibo STEP | Level 4: connector built by Stibo Systems, exchanging STEP XML in both directions | No Fit Map cell |
| Salsify | No Fit Map cell | Level 4: integration developed by Frontify |
| Akeneo | Level 3: CA-Connect, built by The P.I.M. Company GmbH | Level 3: integration provided by Frontify and built with partner Activo |
| inriver | No Fit Map cell | No Fit Map cell |
| Syndigo | No Fit Map cell | No Fit Map cell |
The Frontify Akeneo integration sends assets one way, from Frontify to Akeneo, as CDN URLs. Metadata syncs in both directions, nightly by default, and only one main image per product identifier syncs. The Canto Akeneo connector is labelled Partner Supported and priced on quote by The P.I.M. Company.
Canto DAM for Products links images to SKUs and attributes and syncs assets and metadata to Shopify and Amazon. DAMSelection assessment: a buyer with a separate PIM should decide which system owns the SKU-to-image link before the demo. The PIM and DAM Fit Map and the Akeneo integration page hold the full evidence.
Hosting and security differences
Canto documents more hosting locations and a customer region choice, while Frontify documents more certifications and publishes its subprocessors. Both host on AWS and both offer Germany.
| Security item | Canto | Frontify |
|---|---|---|
| AWS locations | Ireland, Germany, US West, Canada Central, Australia | Frankfurt, North Virginia |
| Region choice | Customer selects US, EU, Canada or Australia | Enterprise customers choose US or EU |
| Standards beyond ISO 27001 and SOC 2 | HIPAA compliance stated | TISAX, Cyber Essentials, HIPAA, DCSO, Microsoft SSPA |
| Subprocessors | Not stated in the verified sources | 8 subprocessors with processing locations on the trust centre |
Canto states ISO/IEC 27001:2022 certification and provides its annual SOC 2 Type 2 report under NDA. Frontify lists ISO 27001:2022 and SOC 2 Type II. DAMSelection assessment: ask Canto where AI features run, and ask Frontify in writing where a non-enterprise tenant would sit. The data residency entry lists the questions to ask.
Pricing model differences
Neither Canto nor Frontify publishes prices on its pricing page, and the two scale cost on different units. That difference decides cost for brand portals with many external users.
- Canto lists four packages without prices and calls them illustrative. Pricing scales with team size and storage, and AI search and tagging appear in the higher packages.
- Frontify bills on monthly active users. External partners who log in count as users, and six-month averaging sets the yearly payment.
- Neither pricing page mentions AI credits.
Worked example: a portal with 40 internal users and 200 agency users who log in monthly counts 240 monthly active users under the Frontify model. Ask Canto how the same 200 agency users affect its team-size driver.
DAMSelection assessment: storage, egress and AI consumption drive five-year DAM cost more than licence fees. Model both quotes in the TCO calculator.
AI capabilities documented for each
Canto and Frontify both document shipped AI tagging, visual search and an MCP server. Neither vendor documents announced features in the verified sources.
| Capability area | Canto | Frontify |
|---|---|---|
| Search | AI Visual Search with Find Visually Similar; video cannot serve as the reference | Enhanced Image Search from natural-language queries; OCR-based Content Search in PDFs, presentations and scans |
| Tagging and metadata | AI Library Assistant suggests keywords, tags, custom field values and albums | Auto-tagging for images and H.264 video; Predictive Metadata; Duplicate Detection |
| Bulk and brand features | AI Bulk Update Assistant and AI Portals, described in September 2026 as shipped | Brand Assistant trained on brand guidelines; AI Translations for guideline content |
| MCP | Product Hub MCP, described in September 2026 as shipped | MCP server connecting ChatGPT, Claude, Cursor and Figma to assets and guidelines |
DAMSelection assessment: the Canto AI add-ons run only in the New Library interface, so confirm the interface version in the demo tenant. Ask Frontify which plan includes each Agentic hub capability. See AI in DAM for how to test AI claims.
What to test to separate them in a scripted demo
Canto and Frontify separate fastest on PIM sync, design tool round trips, user counting and AI on your own assets. Add these tests to the demo script:
- Link 50 images for 10 products to your PIM, with several images per product, and show what arrives.
- Publish five products to Shopify with images and metadata, then change one attribute.
- Place a brand asset in InDesign and Figma, edit it, and send it back.
- Invite 20 agency users to the brand portal and show the cost impact on the quote.
- Run AI-assisted metadata on 100 unseen images and count accepted suggestions per asset.
- Connect an AI assistant through each MCP server and retrieve an approved asset.
Verified facts side by side
| Canto | Frontify | |
|---|---|---|
| DAMSelection segment | Brand and marketing DAM | Brand and marketing DAM |
| Forrester Wave DAM Q1 2026 | Not listed as Leader | Not listed as Leader |
| Headquarters | Atlanta, United States, with offices in Berlin, Cork and Sydney | St. Gallen, Switzerland, with offices in New York and London |
| Parent company | Privately held; JMI Equity made a strategic growth investment in 2021 (stake not disclosed) | Privately held and venture backed; latest verified round is a USD 50 million Series C led by Revaia in September 2021, with EQT Ventures, Blossom Capital, Tenderloin Ventures and HighSage Ventures |
| Deployment model | Cloud SaaS hosted on AWS | Cloud SaaS hosted on AWS; enterprise data sits in a virtual private cloud with a logically separated database and dedicated file storage |
| Hosting regions | AWS regions in Ireland, Germany, US West, Canada Central and Australia | AWS North Virginia (US) or Frankfurt (Germany), with a worldwide CDN |
| Data residency options | Customer selects the AWS region that holds its data (US, EU, Canada or Australia) | Enterprise customers choose US or EU hosting; the trust centre lists 8 subprocessors with processing locations |
| Security certifications | ISO/IEC 27001:2022; annual SOC 2 Type 2 report available under NDA; HIPAA compliance stated | ISO 27001:2022, SOC 2 Type II, TISAX, Cyber Essentials; HIPAA, DCSO and Microsoft SSPA also listed |
| Pricing archetype | Quote-based packages (DAM, DAM PLUS, DAM for Products, DAM PRO) scaled by team size and storage; one AWS Marketplace offer published | Quote-based, priced on monthly active users (MAU) |
| Native PIM connectors | Akeneo through CA-Connect, built by partner The P.I.M. Company and labelled Partner Supported; Canto also sells its own DAM for Products module | Salsify integration developed by Frontify (Enterprise plan); Akeneo integration provided by Frontify and built in partnership with Activo |
| Native creative tool connectors | Adobe Photoshop, Illustrator, InDesign, Premiere Pro, After Effects and Lightroom; Figma; Canva | Adobe CC Libraries integration (Photoshop, Illustrator, InDesign) and Figma plugin, both developed by Frontify and free on all plans |
Facts link to their sources on each vendor profile. Scores on the 12 DAMSelection criteria publish after the scripted demo round.
Demo requests that separate them
- Set up a brand portal for an external agency with our guidelines in under 30 minutes.
- Show what a regional marketer sees and can do, logged in with that role.
Migration between them
Migration effort depends on export completeness, metadata mapping and integrations to rebuild. Test a 500-asset export from the incumbent during the proof of concept.
Profiles: Canto profile and Frontify profile.
Frequently asked
Is Canto or Frontify better for product content?
Canto documents a dedicated product content module: Canto DAM for Products links images to SKUs and attributes and syncs to Shopify and Amazon. Frontify documents a Salsify integration it develops and an Akeneo integration that syncs one main image per product. Choose by PIM and test the sync in a scripted demo.
Is Canto or Frontify better for brand guidelines?
Frontify documents more guideline features. Frontify offers a Brand Assistant trained on the customer's guidelines, AI Translations for guideline content and Adobe CC Libraries that carry brand colours and fonts into design tools. Canto XI added Brand Studio in October 2025. Test both with your own guideline content.
Do Canto and Frontify offer EU data hosting?
Canto offers EU hosting in Ireland and Germany and lets the customer choose the region that holds its data. Frontify offers Frankfurt hosting, with North Virginia as the alternative, and documents that region choice for enterprise customers. Smaller Frontify contracts should confirm the region in writing.
How much do Canto and Frontify cost?
Canto and Frontify publish no prices on their pricing pages. Canto lists four illustrative packages that scale with team size and storage. Frontify bills on monthly active users, counting external partners who log in. Request both quotes on identical internal and external user counts and compare five-year totals in the TCO calculator.
Who owns Canto and Frontify?
Canto is privately held, and JMI Equity made a strategic growth investment in March 2021 without disclosing the stake. Frontify is privately held and venture backed. Frontify's latest verified round is a USD 50 million Series C led by Revaia in September 2021.
Sources
- Canto security
- Canto pricing
- Canto integrations
- Akeneo App Store: CA_Connect by The P.I.M. Company
- Stibo Systems Connectivity Gallery: Canto connector
- Canto Deepens Commitment to Product-Led Brands with DAM for Products (March 2026)
- Canto launches Canto PIM (December 2024)
- DAM Leader Canto Reinvents Digital Asset Management for the AI Era (October 2025)
- Canto advances AI-powered digital asset management with new capabilities (September 2026)
- Canto Help Center: AI Library Assistant, Assisted Metadata
- Canto Help Center: How to Find Visually Similar Assets
- Canto AI terms
- JMI Equity investment in Canto (Business Wire)
- Magnolia partner directory: Canto
- Frontify security
- Frontify trust centre
- Frontify pricing
- Frontify integrations: Salsify
- Frontify integrations: Adobe CC Libraries
- Frontify Help: Akeneo PIM integration
- Frontify Help: integrations collection
- Frontify Help: auto-tagging
- Frontify Help: explore AI capabilities with Agentic hub
- Frontify Help: CDN links
- Frontify raises USD 50M Series C (September 2021)
- Frontify Series B press release (January 2020)
- Search Engine Land: Canto author profile